Skip to content

freeswan.ca is independent. Some links earn us a commission; your price stays the same. How we review

freeswan.ca

Surfshark review for Canada (2026): price, devices and audits

Surfshark's 2-year plans start at EUR 2.49 a month on the page we checked, and every plan allows unlimited devices. It lists servers in Montreal, Toronto and Vancouver. Its pricing page does not state the renewal amount, so confirm it at checkout.

Updated

Phone, headphones and laptop on a table

This page has affiliate links. If you buy through them, freeswan.ca earns a commission; your price stays the same and it does not change what we write. How we review.

Verdict

Surfshark makes the most sense for a household with many devices on a tight budget. Every plan allows unlimited simultaneous devices, and the 2-year Starter plan was EUR 2.49 a month when we checked. It lists servers in Montreal, Toronto and Vancouver and has a long list of published audits. The weak point is renewal: the pricing page does not show what you will pay after the first term.

This is an editorial review based on Surfshark's own published pages and server data. We did not run our own tests; our review method explains why.

Check Surfshark's price

Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere

Surfshark suits you if:

  • your household has more phones, tablets, laptops and TVs than a 10-device limit allows;
  • you want a low first-term price (EUR 2.49 a month on Starter, the same as ExpressVPN's Basic rate);
  • you prefer a provider based in the Netherlands.

Look elsewhere if you need a server in Calgary or want to know the renewal price before you buy. NordVPN lists Calgary and states its renewal prices. ExpressVPN also states its renewal prices.

Plans and prices

Surfshark did not show us Canadian dollars. Its pricing page showed euros when we checked on October 6, 2026 from outside Canada, with the note "VAT may apply". Providers set prices by location, so your checkout will show the amount in your currency. We have not converted anything.

Plan (24 months + 3 extra)Monthly rate shownFirst 27 monthsRenews at
StarterEUR 2.49EUR 67.23Not stated on the page
OneEUR 2.79EUR 75.33Not stated on the page
One+EUR 4.49EUR 121.23Not stated on the page

The page has tabs for 12-month and 1-month plans, but their prices were not in the page text we read. The FAQ says you will be "charged the applicable renewal price" and that the 2-year plan is billed once and then annually. That tells you renewal happens. It does not tell you how much. Before you pay, look for the renewal figure at checkout or in your account's billing settings.

For a cost comparison that includes renewals where providers publish them, see our page on the cheapest VPN in Canada.

Servers in Canada and protocols

Surfshark's official server API lists three Canadian cities: Montreal, Toronto and Vancouver. The API covers 100 countries, and the features page states "4500+ servers in 100 countries". There is no listed city between Toronto and Vancouver, and none east of Montreal, so Atlantic Canada connects through Montreal or Toronto.

The Trust Center names the protocols as "WireGuard, OpenVPN, and IKEv2 VPN, as well as our in-house build protocol Dausos". Our WireGuard vs OpenVPN page explains the difference between the two open protocols.

Privacy: jurisdiction, ownership and audits

"Surfshark is based in the Netherlands", according to its Trust Center. The privacy policy names Surfshark B.V., Kabelweg 57, 1014BA Amsterdam.

Ownership is worth a sentence. Surfshark's about page says that in 2022 "Surfshark and Nord Security merged under one holding company", while operating independently. Nord Security is the company behind NordVPN. If you are choosing between the two, our NordVPN vs Surfshark page sets them side by side.

The Trust Center lists these audits:

  • Deloitte reports on Surfshark's no-logs policy, in 2023 and 2025;
  • an infrastructure audit by SecuRing, completed in December 2025;
  • a Cure53 audit of the infrastructure and the Dausos protocol, in 2026;
  • earlier Cure53 audits in 2021 and in 2018 (browser extensions).

An audit checks a provider at a point in time, so a recent report tells you more than an old one.

What to check before you pay

  • Renewal amount. Find it before you pay, since the pricing page leaves it out.
  • Refund window. Surfshark offers a 30-day money-back guarantee.
  • Free trial limits. The FAQ says a free trial, if you use one, works on only 3 devices. We did not find more details.
  • Tier. Starter, One and One+ differ in price; check what each adds on the pricing page.

See Surfshark plans

What unlimited devices means for a household

Most of the providers we review cap the number of devices that can connect at the same time. NordVPN allows 10, and ExpressVPN 10 to 14 depending on the plan. Surfshark has no cap, so one subscription can cover every phone, laptop and tablet in a family.

That matters most on the move. The Government of Canada's Get Cyber Safe page on public Wi-Fi says that if you use it often, "using a virtual private network (VPN) can be a safer solution." A family at an airport or hotel can have every device on the tunnel at once. Our public Wi-Fi safety guide has a short checklist for those places.

One caution applies to any provider. The Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada noted in a 2017 blog post that VPNs are a "poor way of guaranteeing online anonymity". Surfshark protects the connection. Websites can still recognize you when you sign in.

Alternatives

If unlimited devices is the reason you are looking at Surfshark, Windscribe also allows unlimited devices and is registered in Ontario, though we could not find a published audit report for it. If you want the renewal price in writing before you buy, read our NordVPN review, or compare Surfshark with ExpressVPN, which also publishes its audits.

Common questions

Is Surfshark owned by NordVPN?

Surfshark's about page says that in 2022 Surfshark and Nord Security, the company behind NordVPN, merged under one holding company while operating independently.

How many devices can I use with Surfshark?

Surfshark's pricing page says unlimited. Its FAQ adds that a free trial, where offered, is limited to 3 devices.

What does Surfshark cost when it renews?

The pricing page did not give a renewal figure when we checked on October 6, 2026. Its FAQ only says you are charged the applicable renewal price, and that the 2-year plan is billed once and then annually. Check the amount at checkout.

Where is Surfshark based?

Surfshark's Trust Center says it is based in the Netherlands. Its privacy policy names Surfshark B.V., Kabelweg 57, Amsterdam.

Sources